Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jenn_gw

Best rooting compound?

jenn
12 years ago

We are planning to root a cutting of an old Granada. This rose is 40+ years old and appeared to be on its last leg with a single old gray gnarly trunk. We cut off the single remaining cane and there is ONLY ONE stem to use for rooting. We have one chance!

I saw some Dyna-Grow yesterday and had it in my hand when I noticed the price: almost $30 for a small container. Then I remembered the bottle of liquid seaweed we already have at home and wondered if I could use that instead.

We have only one chance! What rooting compound would you choose for this?

Comments (7)

• tony31036
    12 years ago

Are you experienced with rooting roses? If not, there are probably more pressing things to consider than the rooting compound. I ask the question because I have been rooting cuttings for several years and am still trying various methods and approaches to best suit my area (middle Georgia). I have tried sand, Pine bark fines/peat moss/perlite, perlite only, Summer cuttings, Winter cuttings, with and without mist, etc. I have had success with all of the variations, but not are nearly 100%. I currently use dip-n-grow but have used Rootone in the past with success. I suspect that the rooting medium, the method used to promote rooting (baggie, bottom heat, etc.), and even the health of the doner rose bush will have more impact on your success than the rooting compound selected.

• roseseek
    12 years ago

I used various powders for years when I volunteered at The Huntington Library, then plain old Rootone at home. I much prefer Dip'n Grow liquid to them all. Powders tend to be anhydrous, they absorb water and can lead to rotting of the cutting. The liquid soaks into the tissue and works its magic without inducing rot. Jeri Jennings uses a gel which should work similarly.