Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
erasmus_gw

why wouldn't open pollenated rose seeds be good?

erasmus_gw
13 years ago

Some say you're not likely to come up with a good rose via open pollination. I think the reasoning is that it's apt to be self-pollinated. But I know the bees around here do a pretty good job of getting pollen around from one part of the neighborhood to the other. For example my lone pear tree sets fruit, pollinated I guess from some distant pear.

Anybody have some good results with open pollinated seedlings? I have op seedlings I like, but have not yet had luck with hybridizing.

Linda

Comments (19)

• erasmus_gw
    Original Author
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Kim,
    Thanks for your detailed reply. I have been raising op seeds for several years and like you said, it is a good way to see which germinate well and which seem more vigorous. I only tried pollinating one year and didn't do enough, as none of them set seed, or something happened to the hips. I was focusing on collecting a lot of different pollen, and then we had a lot of rain and I didn't get around to it. Plus, I'm really not sure when the stigmas are ready. I think someone told me to just pull off the petals and the stamens, and pollinate regardless of whether the stigma is sticky. What is your criteria for when a blossom is ready to pollinate? I also know of hybridizers who mix their pollen, so they don't really know the parent on one side.