Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ramblinrosez7b

About your rose seeds....

ramblinrosez7b
15 years ago

Does anyone have some rose seeds germinating yet? I have so far 11 seedlings growing under lights and just found 12 cracked seeds in the frig. I don't know whether to plant these or wait for a longer root, what do all of you do with your cracked seeds with no root showing yet?

Here are the seedlings I have growing so far and please share what you have too.

2 Neptune X Cabana X Peace

1 Gemini X Rainbow Niagara

4 Rt. 66 Seedling X Cabana X Neptune

3 George Burns X OP

1 Pink Striped Seedling X Black Magic X Cabana

Comments (19)

• Joan Dupuis
    15 years ago

Good for you. This is my first try at rose seeds, so I'm not offering help. Just wanted to say I only had 2 varieties (Open pollinated), and have 2 seedlings of Cathy Wade growing in my basement under lights. My guess would be to let a little tail show, but just a guess on my part.

Joan

• ramblinrosez7b
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Hello Joan, thanks for your response, I like how you put that....LOL! I did plant a few of the cracked seeds and have one poking its head out of the soil and the others I left in the frig to see if they will give me a little more root, its much easier that way and I don't waste a pot and soil. I wish you luck with your new seedlings, post a picture when they bloom, would love to see them.

• lucretia1
    15 years ago

I put my first ever batch of seeds in the fridge in early November. I was disappointed when nothing happened after a couple months, and kept putting them back in their little baggie in the refrigerator door. When I just checked them, a few had roots! (Hansa and Fru Dagmar Hastrup, OP.) I am doing the happy dance and potting them up. I also potted up some of the gallica seeds that haven't split yet, and put the rest back in the fridge to see what happens.