Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gaijingirl

Just transplanted rose cuttings...I think we need help...

gaijingirl
15 years ago

I'm a newbie and took my first cuttings last October with some success. I have 9 rose "babies" that I started from cuttings last fall. They were doing well, but I decided that they needed to be put into some bigger pots. About 2 weeks ago, I transplanted them into 5 inch peat pots.

I wasn't sure what kind of medium to put them into and so I just used peat and perlite (which they had been growing in previously) since that was working so far. When I transplanted I saw that they had quite good root systems developed...larger than I expected, so they were definately in need of more room.

However, I'm wondering if they may be needing some more nutrients as they are now.

I have a couple of questions:

First of all, just over the past 2 or 3 days, 8 out of 9 have started to get a few leaves that are starting to yellow. Any idea why this would suddenly be? Could they be in transplant shock 2 weeks later? Or, are they lacking nutrients?

Should I be fertilizing with anything now or adding anything to their pots?

I plan to put them outside once we get some consistently good weather, probably by the end of April or May and I will transplant the peat pots directly to the garden.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Comments (3)

• mad_gallica (z5 Eastern NY)
    15 years ago

There are no nutrients in peat or perlite. So anything planted in that sort of medium either needs regular fertilizing, or it's running on fumes.

I'd get a good, balanced liquid plant food, and start them out with seedling strength or half strength. Use this every time you water them.

If you don't get around to transplanting them once they go outside, make a special effort to water them with fertilizer mixture. Since they probably won't need regular watering in the spring rains, this is a special effort.

• hartwood
    15 years ago