Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
marooned_gw

What's your favorite rooting medium?

marooned
18 years ago

I plan to take some cuttings this year, but I've never tried to root roses before. I've rooted other plants successfully with a 50/50 mix of perlite and vermiculite. How well will this mix work with roses?

Does anyone have any special recipes they like to use?

Comments (26)

• elks
    18 years ago

Coir, hands down,
    Steve.

• rosyone
    18 years ago

I use pine bark fines under my misting system, either pure pine bark soil conditioner or a landscaping mix that's mostly pine bark. For dormant cuttings I stick with the landscaping mix, which contains a little peat moss, because I'm afraid the soil conditioner will dry out too fast. Coir is very good too, but hard to find in my area and expensive. The pine bark works as well, and as it's a local product, it's dirt cheap.

Penelope, rooted under mist in pine bark based landscaping mix.

• gerry_wyomingpa
    18 years ago

Elks,

I am finding that Coir holds ALOT of water, do you use it under mist or do you just use it with the various other methods? If you use it with mist, how are you preventing it from water logging?

Gerry

• mgleason56
    18 years ago

I use coir on all of my cuttings, and have never had a prloblem with root rot. I use mist system in warm weather, and I use dishpans in cold. Have had great success and would never use anything but coir.

• elks
    18 years ago

I include the article which I'm sure you're familiar with.
    I'm a summer cuttings taker, rooting in 6" pots on the north side of the house. No misting, just a bottle cap, removed once the cuttings start new growth, to impede mildew and rot.
    Strangely, the reason coir is used to propagate stentlings commercially is that, while coir does hold water, it drains perfectly so that there is never too much.
    Steve.

Here is a link that might be useful: Propagating and Overwintering Cuttings

• debrazone9socal
    18 years ago