Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mmmgonzo

purchased a misting set with timer- question about interval

mmmgonzo
10 years ago

Good Morning :)

I purchased a misting set with 2 hr timer on ebay and hope to set this up to try rooting roses underneath a mister. I have never done this before and could use some help and guidance.

How long should I set the misting interval for? I am unsure of my choices- the information in the auction description didn't say, but it did say I could choose an set different intervals.

Anything else I should keep in mind? I am thinking I will set up a table off of the ground - should this be located in direct sun? dappled sun? I am assuming shaded locations are not ideal.

Should I wait until we are really experiencing summer? (July) to give this a try? We still have cooler temps in May as a general rule.

Thank you for any and all help -
Marleah

Comments (4)

• roseseek
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Congratulations Marleah! My mister experience is from the old one years ago at The Huntington Library. Totally different conditions and climate, but, hopefully, an idea of what worked in hotter, more arid conditions might help give you a starting point to begin experimenting.

The set up was a table, about the size of a double bed. It was raised about waist high from the ground and contained a bed of lava rock with a heat cable buried an inch or so under the surface. Bottom heat of roughly 70 F aids in rooting. Higher temps for the bottom heat seem to inhibit root formation.