Return to the Rose Propagation Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Baggie method for root cutting.

Posted by sambac z10fl (My Page) on
Sun, Apr 10, 11 at 19:20

I Did look at the FAQ before posting this, not new to plants but new to propagating rose cutting, this is my first attempt, please be easy on me...

My question is: I have the cutting in a small pot( did root tone and KLN) and have put them in a Zip lock bag and placed in full shade. Do I open up the zip lock bag every few days or leave it be for the next 2-3 weeks. This is a Prosperity rose and the other one is OGR.

Thank you in advance to all your replies.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Baggie method for root cutting.

I know there are many folks who have had good luck with rooting roses in baggies, but I'm not one of them. The trick with rooting using any method is to keep the environment in your rooting container (in this case, a baggie) moist, but not putrid and swampy. If you have to periodically open the bag to get this to happen, then I guess opening the bag is a good idea. If things appear to be going well with the bag closed, I'd keep it closed.

Rooting is a bit of a trial and error process. Once you hit on a method that works reliably, it makes you feel like Mother Nature herself. When I first started, my luck was awful. A friend told me how she uses milk jugs and soda bottles to root roses, and my life changed as I got reliably better at rooting. I put this method on my web site, so others can get the same feeling of accomplishment. Good luck with your cuttings.

Here is a link that might be useful: Click on How To

o

Thank you so very much for your response and fantastic pictorial guide to root the cuttings. I think mine are toast- just based on the quality of the cuttings, but will wait and see and I am going to experiment it your way- Thanks again!

o

You're welcome. If your cuttings are green, there's still hope for roots. If they're black, they're toast.

o