Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nvl4

Hardening off rose without wilting or rotting

NVL4
9 years ago

Hi - I have a florist rose that I am trying to root. I enjoyed them and as I was discarding them when they were done I noticed new growth between a little branch with leaves and the stem. I cut it a few little branches below the new growth and took off those leaves, then I dipped it in rooting hormone and stuck it in a pot with a soda bottle over it. This is my first attempt at rooting a rose. I did this about 3 weeks ago and the new growth has increased and the old leaves still look good green and supple. However, several other cuttings have rotted. I have had them outside in bright shade in various little 'greenhouses'; most have rotted.

I have tried pulling the soda bottle off and the rose looks wilty almost right away. Even removing the lid seems to annoy this rose. If it has rooted and the new growth does wilt, will it still be OK since the old leaves seem viable? Should I just remove the cap and let it adjust, then tilt the lid for a week? I am worried because I have found some fungus in the pot and I think it might rot. Should I buy some new soil and repot and hope it survives that? I have it planted in sandy soil.

TIA

This post was edited by NVL4 on Wed, May 28, 14 at 11:15

Comments (7)

• Adrift-in-beauty
    9 years ago

I would not water it as much and give it a week then leav the cap off in the cooler parts of the day and slowly invrease the cap off time till u thonk its strong enough to go top off.. but that just my opinion and i am new to rooting but i do have pretty good luck with it.

• jhawes
    9 years ago

I had lavender cuttings that did the same thing, wilting really quickly once I moved the covering. I had gallon size ziplock bags over them. I just hardened them off slowly and gradually, 1/2 hour one day, a little longer each day for several days. They finally seemed okay and are now growing great out in the garden.

• buford