Return to the Rose Propagation Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Beginner

Posted by Cassieheartsroses 6 (My Page) on
Sat, Jun 30, 12 at 0:24

I have just gotten into wanting to do rose clippings and putting colors together. I have a Kordana rose, a white Peace rose and pink double knock out and I am about to buy about four other breeds. I am extremely interested in cutting these for more plants ect. Any tips or someone who would invest some time to teach a novice? Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Beginner

• Posted by seil z6b MI (My Page) on
    Sat, Jun 30, 12 at 10:34

Be careful to check to see if these roses are patented. It is illegal to root cuttings of patented roses even for personal use. You can check for patents on the US patent site or sometimes at Help Me Find dot com slash roses.

o

seil is right. I'm new to roses also, so I didn't have a clue about the patents. I was told that patents are usually only 20 years, so I always add on a few years if I can't find the actual patent information. But the website seil suggested has become my new best friend. If you do have a rose that no longer holds a patent, you can experiment with those.

This is what I do: