Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lionessrose

Last Years Seedlings Blooms This Year

lionessrose
16 years ago

A few of my last season OP seedlings made it through their first winter and are finally blooming!
{{gwi:1240829}}{{gwi:1240831}}
{{gwi:1240833}}{{gwi:1240835}}
{{gwi:1240837}}{{gwi:1240839}}
The multi-color baby is very fragrant with the red and white not quite as fragrant.
The white one is blooming odd to me however. She is only blooming on one side of the plant, not so much as one bud on the other side. Is this strange?
Can't wait to see what my other babies are going to do, a couple more are just now getting buds.
Very excited in Idaho.The Lioness

Comments (7)

• mmmgonzo
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Congratulations!

Isn't it so exciting to see blooms?
    I started playing around with seeds this past year/winter and know how you are feeling.

The roses are very pretty.
    I especially like the darker colored rose. What is the parent?

Marleah

• lionessrose
    Original Author
    16 years ago

OHHH YESS!!
    Blooms are the most exciting for me.
    It is like a Christmas present, you just don't know what it is going to be until it is opened. While waiting for them to open I feel like a little girl again on Christmas morning :o)
    I still have 7 of my OP roses from last year that didn't bloom last season nor have they this year... as of yet, crossing fingers!
    I was, however, excited they made it through my 4b winter and this seasons very late freezes.
    The red girl is my fav too. I call her Miss. Ash for short.
    I have named her after my neice but the name is much longer.
    Most of my roses are named after my kids,friends and family.
    All of my roses were OP (open pollination). It was a thing I thought I might try but had planned to fail at, so I didn't keep track of what roses I gathered the hips from. There were many places, roses and many hips :o)
    Here is Miss. Ash last season with her very first bloom: