Return to the Rose Propagation Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
When to plant rooted rose cuttings

Posted by teachrh Oklahoma (My Page) on
Mon, Jun 18, 12 at 16:56

I'm new at propagating roses from cuttings. I rooted 5 cuttings that are growing well. When can they be planted in the ground?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: When to plant rooted rose cuttings

If they are growing well, you can harden them off and plant them now. Gradually take them out for a few hours every day, to expose them to more and more sun, until you are sure they can take it. It is good if they are in peat pots, so as not to disturb the roots. Otherwise, wait to be sure they have a good root-ball that will not fall apart when it comes out of the pot - this would be disaster.

o

Thanks for the reply. The cuttings have been outside for the past couple of weeks getting full sun til about 2pm so they should be hardened off. I just hope they can handle the hot summer temperatures and wind. Time will tell!

o

Just to be sure, I would pot them up in gallon pots and give them a better chance to get a good root system. We're so hot here, newly rooted cuttings won't make it on their own.

o

• Posted by seil z6b MI (My Page) on
    Sat, Jun 30, 12 at 10:38

I agree with floridarose. Don't go from cups to the ground but into a larger pot first for a while. You don't say where you are so I don't know if you have to contend with a cold winter or not but tiny rooted cuttings don't usually winter well.

o

Thanks for the replies. I have decided to leave the cuttings in their pots at least until late fall. It is so hot and dry here, southwest OK, that I'm afraid to put them in the ground right now. Sometimes winter is ugly, sometimes it's not. Will just have to play it by ear this year.

o

• Posted by seil z6b MI (My Page) on
    Sun, Jul 8, 12 at 20:36