Return to the Rose Propagation Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
old rose bush, needs to move long distance

Posted by oslofile 28673 (My Page) on
Tue, Jul 11, 06 at 1:42

I have a rose bush my mother gave to my motherin law some 40 years ago. It is from a plant started in the early 1950's. the cutting took a lot of tries before it took. I didn't do it. I moved the whole bush several years ago and it survived, but it has always been plagued by beetles, and fungi. It isn't doing well. I am moving and would like to take the bush with me. I need advice on how to. I am going to fertalize the bush tomorrow. I was thinking about spraying the bush with a mild dish soap. The question here is what should I do. I will be moving 160 miles away.

The other question I want to take some cuttings to insure that I have several chances of it surviving. My problem is I am totally new to rose bushes and I have read the bottle method but have no idea how it actually works. Could someone help me with a cutting. Please, I am a raw beginner and am not familiar with some of the lingo

I need all the help I can get and it will all be greatly appreciated. I have no idea what it is. It has red flowers and one of the bushes my mother has was American Beauty. but I don't know if that is the one. thanks in advance. oslo in NC

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: old rose bush, needs to move long distance

I think you leave it until too late. When you dig the bush up, just make sure you have a huge plastic bag to put it in immediately. Then keep this bag in the coolest spot away from the Sun. The bag helps to keep the moisture in so the roots won't dry out.

Taking cutting is OK. Make sure you take fairly mature canes and seal into aplastic bag and keep in your fridge just like keeping veggies.