Return to the Rose Propagation Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
How to propagate Cuttings with a potato

Posted by sunshine98 Z8 TX (perkisun@sbcglobal.net) on
Fri, Jul 14, 06 at 13:11

I'm doing some cuttings now and I live in West Texas. It's my first time doing it this way but it seems to be working because I'm starting to see new buds on the cutting. I took the cuttings and bore a hole in a potato which started to have roots. The hole I bore on the potato was a bit smaller than the cutting so it is going to be a very snug fit which is good. Then I took the cutting and pushed it into the potato. They say you're supposed to use root hormone but I didn't to see if it works without it. Then you take the potato with the cutting and bury it in good potting soil so that only the potato is covered leaving the cutting exposed. Water well, and cover with a gallon milk jug with the bottom cut off to allow for air and to keep the humidity high near the cutting. "screw" the gallon unto the dirt. Your new cutting should be ready to dig up and plant in Spring. Good-luck!!!!
Sincerely and respectfully,
Nancy aka sunshine98

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: How to propagate Cuttings with a potato

That is very interesting. Keep us posted on the results.

o

You do know that you will be growing Potato plants with your roses don't you unless you peeled off all of the eyes. I used worm castings that I had from feeding worms in a worm bin leftovers once and ended up with a bunch of tomato plants along with the roses. Be careful what you wish for.

o

• Posted by hoovb z9 Southern CA (My Page) on
    Thu, Jul 20, 06 at 12:10

Several people tried this over on the propagation forum a couple of years ago and ended up with rotted cuttings and rotted potatoes. I hope it works better for you.

o