Return to the Rose Propagation Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
When to transplant rose cuttings?

Posted by cicelychen Atlanta, GA (My Page) on
Fri, Jul 22, 11 at 16:33

Hi, so I took rose cuttings about 3 weeks ago from my parents' house in southern California and started them in a shaded location in small pots under glass jars on the north side of my house here in Atlanta, GA. They look like they're doing well and I'm hoping they will be rooted in another few weeks (around Aug 15).

Now, I've heard that fall is the best time for transplanting, but since I took these cuttings pretty late in the season, do I need to pot them up in gallon containers, place them in my garage, and overwinter them and plant them in spring?

I have had no experience in propagating rose cuttings before.

1. Should I plant them in fall, winter, or spring?
2. Should I transplant to larger pots? If so, when? and for how long?
3. Should I be transferring them to the ground when they have leaves or when they're dormant?
4. Do I need to wrap them? Or will a layer of ground mulch be sufficient?

Last year we had a particularly brutal winter where it snowed a few times, once with 6 in which stayed on the ground because of a week-long freezing spell. However, I think winters here are generally not too bad, with Dec - Jan having lows of 15-20 and highs of 35-40.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: When to transplant rose cuttings?

• Posted by seil z6 MI (My Page) on
    Thu, Aug 4, 11 at 21:38