Return to the Rose Propagation Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Newspaper wrapped cuttings a success!

Posted by grandmothers_rose z6 VA (My Page) on
Sun, Jul 3, 11 at 22:52

You all have gotta try this. I am a rank amateur and I have cuttings from OGR's to HT's well callused after two weeks. I'm going to plant them this weekend. The next trick is to find a good place outside in hot and humid VA weather for them to grow on.

Roseseek, you ROCK!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Newspaper wrapped cuttings a success!

Thank you, but it wasn't my idea originally, as I state on my blog. I just massaged the idea to fit my conditions. Now, please, as you find successes in YOUR climate, please post the results with the prevailing conditions so others can use all of it as a guide to figure out what may work for them. Thank you! Kim

o

I used cuttings that looked healthy, even if they had a bit of blackspot. I figured I was removing the leaves anyway so it might be ok. I also made sure I had heel wood at the bottom of the cuttings and carefully scored the end. Dipped them in 8 year old roottone. I took two whole sheets of newspaper and soaked them and rolled them dry with my rolling pin. I rolled 6-10 cuttings up like a burrito in each set of newspapers, covered each burrito with a Wal-Mart bag, tied it, put a rubberband loosely around it, and chucked it like a log into a 2 gallon solid-colored plastic container in my unheated or cooled basement. We've had temps in the 80's to 90's with nights usually in the 60's. Two weeks later, bingo! Nicely callused cuttings.

Here is a link that might be useful: roseseek's newspaper wrapped cuttings

o