Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
grandmothers_rose

Newspaper wrapped cuttings a success!

You all have gotta try this. I am a rank amateur and I have cuttings from OGR's to HT's well callused after two weeks. I'm going to plant them this weekend. The next trick is to find a good place outside in hot and humid VA weather for them to grow on.

Roseseek, you ROCK!

Comments (121)

• JessicaBe
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Thanks Kim!

• roseseek
    11 years ago

You're welcome Jessica! Good luck with them. If they don't cooperate, don't give up. Try what you've done with other roses which are known to be easy to root to stack the deck in your favor. Once you're comfortable rooting the no brainers, branch out and try some which are known to be a bit more difficult so you can easily tweak your method for the best results. Try parallel runs with some in the basement, some upstairs and some outside as I've suggested so you can determine what works best in your conditions.

Perhaps this method may permit you to propagate when using bottles or bags won't so you'll be able to begin your cuttings earlier, then move on to the bottle method once the weather and material are better suited for them? Utilizing multiple methods can permit you to propagate nearly year round so you can successfully add roses from anywhere, pretty much any time of year to your garden. Kind of fun thinking about that, isn't it? Kim

• vettin
    11 years ago

Calluses! Starting on some cuttings from a week and a half ago. Now let us see if I kill them by fussing over them too much when planting

• roseseek
    11 years ago