Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
scorpiohorizon

Best way to get baby QE thru the winter?

scorpiohorizon
15 years ago

Somehow, miraculously, and perhaps due to a great deal of prayer to St. Theresa, I managed to get my late MIL's Queen Elizabeth to root. She's currently a baby in a pot still covered with a Ziplock bag under a shrub in the garden, but she has new growth budding and she has roots. The next step is to let her have air and gradually expose her to the sun.

After that, I will need the best way to get her thru the winter on the west side of Cleveland. If last winter is any indication of what to expect, it will still be warm enough here for roses to bloom on Halloween and it won't get really ridiculously cold until January. Then again, I'm new to these parts.

Here are options I have considered--please help me decide which is best, as I've no idea what I am doing here.

1. Put it in the basement in the north facing window well. Truthfully, it would get plently of light but if it needs to be cool down there, it's not gonna happen. I have an ancient, converted from coal to gas boiler system in my basement that keeps the basement about as warm as the first floor of the house--so if it does not need to be a cool temp, this is a viable option. (Sidenote: The guy from the heating company who checked our boiler in the fall said it's likely "the oldest functioning boiler in Lakewood"--but the real fun is in the asbestos insulation.)

2. Take it to work with me, where it can get put in a sunny window and I have flourescent lights on for about 8 hours per day. Again, won't get cool in there except on weekends when the boiler is turned off. Potential danger: Some nitwit teenager knocks it off the windowsill while he's supposed to be taking a quiz on Shakespeare.

3. Put it in the unheated garage where it will get some protection from the weather, but I will more than likely forget about it completely and it will die of dehydration.