Return to the Rose Propagation Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
How long can I leave a rooted cutting in a drinking cup?

Posted by gr8heather none (My Page) on
Tue, Aug 14, 12 at 1:43

This is my first time propagating rooted cuttings, I have about 30 started, with roots. (only about 3 died, yay!) At first I had them in very small greenhouse containers, but I have now moved them to medium sized plastic drinking cups. I am not ready to put them outside yet, and many have nice root systems, but no new leaf growth. Will they be ok over winter in the drinking cups, or will they outgrow them too fast? I'm not sure if I will have room indoors for them over the winter if I need to increase the pot size. I still have them in their 2.5 gallon ziplock bag "greenhouses", inside their clear cups, and I can already see lots of roots along the inside of the clear cups even though they were only re-potted about 2 weeks ago.

Also, how will I tell when they are ready to come out of the plastic bags? I had one out today for only about a half hour, indoors, and the new growth wilted immediately. How will I harden them off when they are ready?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: How long can I leave a rooted cutting in a drinking cup?

Heather, I propagate outdoors. I have about fourteen rooted cuttings still in the sixteen ounce foam cups I rooted them in back in January-February. I have to keep them watered religiously as they receive about four hours of direct sun daily. I have no idea how long you can keep them in cups indoors as I can't root things inside here.