Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
westseattledeb

Growing roses from seeds?

westseattledeb
13 years ago

I'm new to rose gardening, but having inherited 40+ old rose bushes in a house I bought, I'm enchanted and addicted.

Just read a post on hybridizing roses; never knew roses had seeds...

The bushes have lots of rosehips and I'd like to try growing roses from seeds.

My question is; since there are so many varieties on the property, is it likely that the seeds will be hybrids from bees pollinating, or will they more likely be self pollinated? Lots of bees on my property. Had two swarms last month from a nearby park.

Comments (8)

• lookin4you2xist
    13 years ago

I would gather more than likely, most will be from the bees pollinating. The best site IMO to learn from is rose hybridizers http://www.rosehybridizers.org/ it might take a little bit of learning on the genetic side. (Don't worry, I'm lost a lot and I have some books on it)It really does give you a whole different outlook on roses. Plus it can be a lot of fun on a bad weather day! Best of Luck!!!!

• lucretia1
    13 years ago

There's a good article by Malcolm Manners here on Paul Barden's website. I've successfully grown open pollinated (by bees or something other than me) roses using this technique. A couple things I'd add:

If you write the name of the mother rose on the paper towel with a sharpie before you wet it, you can keep track of your seeds and keep them all in one bag (roll them up in the paper towel like you're rolling a burrito.)

This is my second year growing from seed, and my seeds seemed to take a couple of months to get going--but once a particular batch of seeds started, it was like popcorn starting to pop--it was better to check every couple of days for new sprouts.

Even if the rose is self-pollenated, you won't get something exactly like it--just as you are different from your parents, brothers, and sisters, baby roses will differ from their parents to a small or large degree.