Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ericpg_gw

Help!! Rose cutting, leaves fall

ericpg
14 years ago

I was wondering why my rose cutting keeps failing; the leaves gradually start falling. This is already my second try at this. I started this second batch on August 6th, and the leaf-falling symptoms have begun to appear again.

So this is how I prepare the cutting:

1. I cut a section of the stem which has a flower on it. I cut off the top flower, peel off the last leaf on the bottom, and I cut below the node (1cm, 45 degree angle). Then I dip it into STIM-ROOT #2 by about an inch.

2. I use the starter mix that I bought from GardenWorks.

3. The temperature in the room is around 19-23 degrees Celsius.

4. I put the rose cuttings beside the windows.

5. I use a 10 gallon fish tank with an acrylic cover to contain all the cuttings, and mist the inside of the box everyday.

I'm new at this, any tips will be welcomed. Thanks.

Comments (5)

• donnaz5
    14 years ago

I read your post, but I am not clear on how many leaves you are leaving on the cutting to start with? I usually strip off all but 2 or 3 at the top. If you are leaving too many on the cutting the leaves are probably dropping because the stem can't take up enough water to sustain them all.
    The important thing is..are they rooting? Don't worry too much about the leaf drop, other than removing the fallen leaves so you won't get mold..just go with it and see how they do. There is a huge learning curve, just keep at it, and eventually you'll find what works for you.
    One other thing..(I am in zone 5)..and even here I wouldn't put cuttings near a window because they would just fry..I am thinking in your zone, the heat from the sun has to be so much more intense..I would move them back from the sun, so they get bright light and not direct sun through the window. Good Luck..keep trying!! Donna

• allison1888
    14 years ago