Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cziga

What did I do wrong?

cziga
17 years ago

I'm new to this and thought I'd start slowly with one cutting. Salet. I'm not sure that the cutting was mature enough, a little thin, but it had leaves. Liquid rooting hormone. Pop bottle for the "greenhouse effect".

It looked like it was surviving for a couple weeks. The leaves slowly yellowed, veins first. I read that this is a sign of over-watering? I really didn't water though, just made sure the soil was moist when I first stuck the cutting. I used potting soil. I don't have coir, and probably won't go on the hunt to find any until i get a little better at this technique!

Anyways, then the top of the cutting started to mold over and I figured that was the end of it. Final straw. I pulled it up to have a look and the bottom inch was moldy too. Blackened. No roots.

So my question is . . . what did I do wrong? What causes the tips of the cutting to mold over? Too much water? Not enough exposure to air? I never took the bottle top off -- i didn't think I was far enough along. Should I have? I don't see how it could be over-watering, as I never watered it. The soil didn't look dried out and there was condensation on the inside of the pop bottle, which I thought was the important part.

Any suggestions for what I could do differently next time?

Comments (6)

• belleville_rose_gr
    17 years ago

you will probably get alot of responses on this but I would say the soil was to moist. I have done the method your are doing and also the baggie method. I lighty spray the soil and let it soak through. I then place the slip in and leave the cutting alone. As long as their is condendsation then you will be alright. Some people mist but if your cuttings are in indirect sunlight your fine. I mist mine when I start to harden off the cutting. What I find is the most important PATIENCE

• michelle_co
    17 years ago