Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gaijingirl

Shrub Rose Propagation

gaijingirl
15 years ago

I have some shrub roses in the front yard that I am really enjoying at my new house and I would very much like to take some cuttings for the backyard.

I am pretty new to all this, (but am ambitious to try!) and I've done a lot of reading. However, it seems like everything I read about how to take cuttings is a bit different....So, I'm not sure what is the best thing to do.

Can someone provide me with some info. about what is the best way to take a cutting of a shrub rose to propagate it. Is now a good time to do it, or should I be waiting until a different time of year? The bushes have been blooming since May and they still have a lot of flowers on them and a LOT of new growth.

I would appreciate any info you could give that might help me with doing this my first time!

Thanks!

Comments (2)

• cannabisgrower
    15 years ago

Now is a fine time, any time in between the end of June, and the first heavy snow. George Mander and Cheryl Netter have written articles about how it's done; you can also search for threads on this forum by object16 - I know object personally and he's quite accomplished at growing cuttings, and he learned from George and Cheryl. Your medium doesn't need to be sterile, like some books say - you can use pro-mix, peat based potting mix, shredded composted bark, shredded composted christmas trees, or other exotic items. Object16 (Paul M.) likes to mix in 25 - 30% sand, moisten the medium, he uses 3.5" or 4" peat pots, and he puts them in standard trays, covered with a tall "Humididome", which is a platic cover with vents, crack open the vent a little, put it about 6" from a twin tube shoplight, and keep it between 70-80 degrees (use a thermometer to be sure, like a cheap one from waly-mart with a probe at the end of a wire).