Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ranjana_gw

HELP save my newly rooted roses planted directly in ground

ranjana
17 years ago

Hi all the rose experts out there!

I am a newbie.MY rose cuttings planted in open ground put out their roots a month back. I had planted them directly in the garden on a steep hilly-slope. They are thriving and doing very well currently.

But from tommorrow onwards the temperature is going to dip down in late 20s at night. I am very much concerned about protecting my newly rooted baby roses. I just do not want to lose them. There is a whole lot variety out there.

I just cannot bring the whole lot indoors. There is no light in my garage; and basement though unheated also remains very very dark.Plus I have a lot of other plants that I had to bring in the house.

I need IMMEDIATE help in acquiring the information about how to care for these babies.They maybe about 6" tall. Do I cut back the growth and pile dirt around them and then mulch them with pine needles? Or do I bury them? I have no idea at all as what to do. I would appreciate all the help I can lay my hands upon.

Thanks in advance,

Ranjana

Comments (10)

• first_time_gardener
    17 years ago

I have a friend who just covers her new ones each year with clear glass jars and it works well for her. Not an expert but I know it works for her and I am going to try it this year with the two new ones that I planted directly in my garden. If they are too tall you could trim them back enough to fit into the jar not touching the sides or top of the jar.
    Angel

• chefcdp
    17 years ago

Roses are tougher than begonias, they can take a little frost. However, you will probably want to protect your new cuttings from a hard freeze - defined here as 5 or more hours at 28For lower.