Return to the Rose Propagation Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
rose seed question

Posted by canadian_rose zone 3a (My Page) on
Sun, Dec 15, 13 at 1:01

I'm wondering if I ruined my rose seeds. This is my first time trying to germinate seeds. I used my friend's rose hips (rugosa/rugosa hybrids - self-seeded) and put them in dampened peat moss and potting soil and put them in the fridge. I first let them sit for a bit in some water with a bit of H2O2.

What I didn't do was scrub the seeds. I didn't see any coating or pulp on the seeds; so I just put them in the baggie.

Should I have scrubbed them?? How much should I have scrubbed them - since I couldn't see anything on them.

Do you think they'll germinate without the scrubbing?

Thanks so much!!
Carol

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: rose seed question

Carol,
As long as you removed the seeds from the hips, that is all that matters. Rugosa seeds are pretty much foolproof, so just keep them refrigerated for a minimum of twelve weeks before sowing, and allow them to germinate in a cool place. IE: avoid temps over 75F until after they have germinated. Too warm an environment can stop the germination process and reset the clock in the seeds to stay dormant till the next cooling cycle.

o

I've got some in the fridge and some in the garage on a shelf covered with blankets. Experiment to see if the garage will work for when I hybridize my HTs.

How about when I hybridize my HTs - should I scrub at them? I don't really see anything on the seeds - so I'm confused.

Thanks!
Carol

o

Carol,