Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gerry_wyomingpa

New rose babies. . .seedlings!

gerry_wyomingpa
18 years ago

Things seem to be starting, Rozanna posted that her seeds have started to sprout, mine are still a few weeks off from starting. Is anyone else having any new 'little ones'?

Perhaps we can keep this post running thru out the winter and spring, or maybe even longer, as a progress report, and of course PICTURES are always welcome.

Gerry

Comments (40)

• bojo96
    18 years ago

This is my first year doing anything like this. I now have 4 miniature roses started from seed that are about 4"s tall. They have started flopping over so I put a toothpick in to support them. Do they get stronger? Do I need to do something I'm not doing? I'm glad you started this thread...hopefully I'll learn a lot from everyone else.
    Julie (with about 100 more rose seeds and clueless)

• gerry_wyomingpa
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Julie,

Are you growing them under lights? I have never had a rose seedling flop on me, tho I am sure it could happen, I am far from expert. I do not think there is enough natural light this time of year to sustain 'normal' growth, so would need to add additional lighting.

Let us know and we will see what we can do to help you out.

Gerry

• bojo96
    18 years ago

I have a grow light in a 6' X 3' Portable greenhouse. I got to researching a little bit and it seems it may be what is called "damping off"...maybe. What can you tell me about that and how to take care of it. Thanks alot for your help.
    Julie

• henry_kuska
    18 years ago

For sick seedlings, see:

http://home.neo.rr.com/kuska/hydrogenperoxide.htm

Here is a link that might be useful: link for above

• gerry_wyomingpa
    Original Author
    18 years ago