Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mmmgonzo

Hardwood Rose Cutting question.. worth it?

mmmgonzo
17 years ago

Hi all :)

I have never done hardwood cuttings before, always softwood with new growth. I have gotten to where I get a good percentage to root using softwood, but have never tried hardwood cuttings.

If I try to do hardwood cuttings, how successful is it? Will it give me a jump on the rooting season ie: will some be rooted by June? Or will I come out about the same rooting them using softwood cuttings and having rooted cuttings end of June/early July?

Thanks for any and all information.

Any helpful hints appreciated.

Marleah

Comments (2)

• irish_rose_grower
    17 years ago

HI Marleah. I did hardwood cuttings last winter and had anywhere from 25-75% success rate. For me this was very successful, as once I tried indoors and had 0% root (out of about 25). The reason I like the hardwood is that it doesn't take up any room in my small house and I can leave the rooted plants in place and let them get established before I move to their permanent homes. The ones that rooted for me last year are still in their original spots. This spring I will move them to their new spots.

I remember digging up some of my cuttings that were leafing out in may/june and some of them had small roots already. (I'm in zone 7 Long Island NY).

Happy New Year,
    Maureen

• mizerose
    17 years ago