Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
galium_gw

Priority Mail vs. Parcel Post Discussion

galium
17 years ago

I'd like some feed back from members concerning why Priority Mail is mandatory for some swaps. Other than the time element what is the difference? Parcel Post is much less expensive.

I mailed two boxes today. One I sent was heavier by far, yet it cost less to send it. I sent it Parcel Post with a DC#. I saved $4.00. So it takes a few extra days. It has a tracking number so I know where it is. You can get a DC# on anything that is at least 1/4" thick. I would feel responsible for any box of mine that went missing whether it be Priority or not.

Last spring I started trading plants. All of the plants I received were mailed Parcel Post. Not one died and they were in excellent condition.

Thanks for your input.

Mariann

Comments (12)

• earthlydelights
    17 years ago

mariann, i use whatever seems to work for what's in the box. it seems of late even paying priority some packages still take 4 or 5 days.

if i have perishables or plants, i use priority. if it doesn't really matter, i'll use parcel post. i play around with postage rates before i go to the post office. i have never printed it from home and did the pick up, because it's always a few days behind in the delivery.

if flat rate is the way to go, i use that.

i always see that confirmation is mandatory, but i guess that's just a precaution. i learned the hard way that you can't use it on an envelope. had i thought about it, or the clerk been more intune, i should have used certified mail. confirmation gives you an opportunity to track, does not in any way guarantee anything.

i for the most part use post office supplies/boxes, so i don't have the option to say parcel post when it is in a priority box - their rule, which makes sense.

it should be your option, it's your dollar. just so you are accountable for it.

maryanne

• beth_b_kodiak
    17 years ago