Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lakedallasmary

Anyone interested in a veggie only round robin?

lakedallasmary
16 years ago

I was thinking a veggie only round robin. Or maybe I should call it a edible only robin? Anyone like that idea? I am a bit freaked about this though. I have never done this before and would be afraid to not do it right.

Please do not sign up here for this robin now. I just want advice on how I would like to do things. If you have opinions on the following ideas, please post here so everyone can see. If anyone is interested in this robin, I will post a robin in another post.

I don't have a lot of seeds that I could not start out the box with. I guess folks could send seeds to me to start the box with but that could get confusing.

If you sent 10 packs of seeds you could remove 10 packs when the box got to you, but if you did not see ten you liked then what? Also would you remember how many you stuck in? I suppose, I could keep track and enclose a list of how may seeds you stuck in.

Also, I would hate to a have a bunch of rules, but I was concerned if I did not set some sort of limit to how old the seeds were some would send ancient seeds that wore stored in poor conditions, such as a damp basement.

I was thinking maybe we could have freebee seeds. If you had seeds that were on the old side (older than listed in the viability list in the below link), then we could put those all in one large baggie marked freebee seeds. If you put seeds in there they would not count toward the number of seeds you could take out of the box. For example: you put 6 fresher seed packs in the box, and 2 packs of older seeds in the freebie envelope. You could take 6 packs out of the main box and what ever ones you want out of the free baggie, within reason. Some won't want any old seeds so this should work out.

Here is a link on how long seeds last seed viability