Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
greystoke_gw

greystoke
16 years ago

Hi everyone,

IÂm a newcomer to this board, so please allow me introduce myself.

IÂm from Port Elizabeth, South Africa. IÂm a retired engineer, dabbling in hydroponics for a hobby. IÂve been into this the last five years, which  in these parts  makes me an expert, but donÂt take that seriously.

I'm very much into indigenous gardening, and I also keep tropical fish.

Regards

Greystoke

Comments (11)

• birdsfoot_violet
    16 years ago

Greetings Greystoke,

Welcome aboard. Unfortunately, as you can see, there's not a lot of activity here. Maybe you can change that! I am very interested in SA native plants (especially the western part) and have quite a few and am always interested in what SA locals have to say about them. My climate is quite different from yours and so takes a bit of effort to provide suitable conditions. I am a retired graphic artist, so have plenty of time to fuss over them -- and I do.

I am in the Smoky Mountains area of North Carolina on the east coast of the US. Parts of the Smokies have so much rain that they almost qualify as temperate rainforest. Fortunately, I am in a drier area, about 40 inches (100 cm)per year. Very hot southern sun here, but cool nights due to the elevation. Delosperma is so far the only thing I can grow in the ground here.

I'd be very interested to hear about your gardening experiences and your climate. I assume your location is affected by warm ocean currents rather than the cold Antarctic one. Or are you right on the cusp between the two?

Again, welcome,
    Anna

• greystoke
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thank you for the kind reception Anna. Been in North Carolina once many moons ago on a visit to Corning, Wilmington. But on a business trip you don't get much time to look around.