bizmhamama

aloe disease?

bizmhamama
19 years ago

My aloes have picked up some sort of disease that

looks like a cabbage outbreak between leaves. Some

leaves become curly & diseased looking just around the

tips and the blooms are also affects.

One of my neighbors (who is a gardner by profession)

had commented that it was the result of mites but this

just doesn't seem logical. I've never seen any insects

at all on the leaves.

I've had to throw out a bunch of plants or chop off

large diseased portions. But because the problem just

keeps popping up, I'm beginning to worry that I will

soon need to replace dozens of plants.

What is this??? Is it treatable?

Comments (3)

• conroe_joe
    19 years ago

Hi,

I can't say for sure that your problem is mites, but they can do the type of damage that you describe. Mites are very tiny, almost invisible to the naked eye, and some are not visible. Sometimes, on the undersides of leaves, they can leave a bit of a web, but not all mites leave a web.

Mites can cause scabby growth on aloes (and cacti), and they can cause deformities such as twisted, or stunted, or bizarre flower stalks and flowers. They can cause scabby growth on leaves and stems and can seriously deform a plant with twisted growth combined with scabby surfaces. The stem and leaves can look corky, or bumpy or like acne, or worse, even like dried fish scales.