Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
saveg

Germinating Strelitzia Seed

SAVeg
20 years ago

Hi you guys!

As you might well gather I am quite new to flower gardening. My job entails working with vegetables, but I have developed quite a keen interest in flower gardening since we've moved into a house with quite a nice sized yard. There is a strelitzia in the garden from which I got 2 seeds, I got another 5 from a friend. I am however having difficulty germinating these. The temperatures are still quite low over here, so I don't know whether that has an influence. The seeds have a very hard seedcoat, which made me wonder if they didn't need scarification like Acacia seeds.

Thanks for your help in advance.

SAVeg

P.S. Delina to get a kappie op die "e", press alt and hold it in while typing 136 on the righthand numerical keyboard. Hoop jy kom reg.

Comments (7)

• Modjadje
    20 years ago

Hi there, here is some info from PlantzAfrica.com that will help you ...
    "For best results sow fresh seed in spring. Before sowing, remove the bright orange tuft of hairs attached to the seed (aril of each seed) and soak in a aqueous solution of ethrel at a concentration of 2000 ppm active constituent, for 48 hours. In practical terms this entails making up 6ml ethrel (39.5% active ingredient) to a litre of water. Sow in seedtrays filled with a well-drained soil medium at a depth of 1,5 times the size of the seed. A constant temperature of 25 C is most suitable for germination as low temperatures retard germination. Germination takes four to eight weeks. Seedlings should be a good size before transplanted (two to three leaves) into a well drained medium. Young strelitzia plants must be grown in shade, for the leaves tend to burn in direct sunlight. Regular repotting allows the young plant to develop rapidly. Restricting the root development retards growth. "