Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brugpuppy

New to list - gooseberries

brugpuppy
20 years ago

Oh wow!

I just found this list and I am amazed! I am so pleased to find this. I am a born and raised South African but have been living in Canada for the past 25 years!

I am also new to more serious gardening, and have been trying to find South African plants. I must be suffering from nostalgia and missing the fynbos :-)

I have a gloriosa lily just done flowering for the first time. Two little redish flowers nothing like I remember as a kid, which were brilliant red and yellow and grew 7' high!

My passiflora is blooming, and I never thought I would actually like these plants for anything but the fruit. Now I can't find an edible passion fruit seed anywhere!

I tried a strelitzia seed, but after watching it now for over a year I think it will never grow. Besides I am told that they only flower from seed in about 7 years - I doubt I have that kind of patience, even if I make another 7 years!

Okay, we found gem squash at a local fruit stand and I saved the seed and have been growing gems very successfully. I had forgotten how good they were!

what else? Oh yes what I am writing mostly for, is our sudden craving for the real SA gooseberries! We have gooseberries here in Canada, but they are not the real McCoy. We want those that look like tomatilloes with the papery covering on them. Does anyone know where I can get this seed please?

Is it possible to import seeds of some native plants such as proteas? Would anyone know where to obtain catalogs?

Baie Dankie :-)

Chris

Here is a link that might be useful: crisandi samoyeds

Comments (5)

• paquebot
    20 years ago

Chris,
    The berry that you are looking for is Cape Gooseberry but called Ground Cherry over here. Most US seed companies carry the seed. I'm not certain who might have it in Canada. If you can't locate any commercial source up there, I may have a few billion seeds under my plants!

Martin

• Modjadje