Return to the Salvia Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Are some salvias more tolerant of soggy winters?

Posted by christie_sw_mo Z6 (My Page) on
Sat, Mar 8, 08 at 10:23

I have no trouble finding dry soil in the summertime but our winters can be a little snowy/rainy. It's different every year of course but we rarely have a long-lasting snow cover because the really cold temps don't stay around for more than a couple days usually.

I'm in zone six but our summers are hot and dry so I love growing salvias. I'm still unsure whether cold or moisture is my biggest enemy in the winter. Maybe it's a combination of both.

I'm mostly interested in salvias that Ruby Throat hummingbirds find attractive. I've been growing salvia guaranitica for several years so I want to try Van Remsen. Any other suggestions? I don't mind the risk if it's iffy in my zone. That's part of the fun. : )

Salvia Darcyi has been doing well for me so far and I've had mixed luck with greggi cultivars. I'll know in just a few weeks who survived this winter.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Are some salvias more tolerant of soggy winters?

Can you build raised beds with either sandy loam or sand? These work pretty well in North Carolina with our red clay soils. The beds should be around 10 to 16 inches high. French drains (small ditches filled with very coarse gravel) are also good for carrying excess moisture away.

Van Remsen does not form many tubers and has no stolons (runners). I'd mulch this one in zone 6 with around 6 inches of hardwood bark mulch for the coldest parts of winter.

o

• Posted by dicot Los Angeles (My Page) on
    Sat, Mar 8, 08 at 16:36

Salvia elegans is my most popular plant with our ruby-throated hummingbirds, but I'm not sure how it will do in the cold, as it is a Fall bloomer. I've had many, many drainage problems with other sages, but it's never been an issue with the S. elegans. The same could be said for my S. leucantha, which the hummers like too.

o