Return to the Salvia Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
do salvia's transplant well?

Posted by flyskyhigh40 z17 N.Ca (flyskyhigh40@comcast.net) on
Tue, Mar 22, 05 at 20:59

Wondering if salvia's tranplant well? I have several varieties growing well, but need to be moved as I am redoing this part of the garden. The thickness of the trunks are about 2-3 inches.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: do salvia's transplant well?

I, personally, haven't had luck moving Salvias that large. I ended up taking cuttings from some and pulling-off side shoots from others, but the main plant didn't make it. Which doesn't mean yours won't... you just might want to back them up with cuttings, etc.

o

When taking the cuttings, do I cut from the oldest wood, or the newer branches? Should I use root hormone to help the transplant along, or other fertilizer?

o

• Posted by Mikey SoCA-Z10-22/23 (My Page) on
    Wed, Mar 23, 05 at 2:26

I'm no expert but my experience to date indicates that most salvias can be propagated by means of cuttings But I have others that do better by layering wherein I bury the stem in the soil and anchor it with a U-shaped wire. I use rooting hormone when I take cuttings but I go lightly with it as sometimes it seems to damage the cutting, possibly burning it.

When taking cuttings, I select a firm green stem that can be snapped if bent sharply; not a stem with bark or a flimsy stem. Take a section about 6" long and cut it cleanly just below a leaf node. Use a light/airy damp potting mix in 4" plastic pots. I find they do better if kept damp, not moist or wet. Too much moisture seems to kill them. I don't take the time to coddle them by bagging them, but doing so would likely lead to more success. I keep them under shade cloth and after a few weeks I introduce them to more sunlight if they appear to be well rooted.

o

Many of my salvias have been transplanted (some several times) with no problems. I always cut the top part back by at least 1/3.