Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cagardenerwestelle

Yvonne's Giant Salvia Information

CA Kate z9
15 years ago

I've agreed to test this Salvia in the Central Valley of CA. I would greatly appreciate it if others who have grown this Salvia anywhere in the world would please let us all know:

Where you are.

What is your growing zone-- or at least your temperature range.

How well has this Salvia grown during your summers.

How well has it survived your winters.

How much water does it need.

Do you have any special care notes for this Salvia?

Thanks to all who can help.

Comments (10)

• robinmi_gw
    15 years ago

I have been growing this is England for a few years. It did not come from Yvonne, I think seeds were collected in Brazil, but it is more or less identical, from what I make out. Here I have to treat it as an annual, as it will not stand any frost, and the plants are too big to over-winter under glass. Cuttings root easily but are difficult to keep alive in the glass-house as they get attacked by mould and aphids.

In a warm year, from seeds sown late Feb/early March, I will have a 5 ft plant by August. Flowering usually starts here sometime in July. Last year was much later, as it was overcast for most of the summer. This Salvia likes heat and seems happy in sun or part-shade. It is very thirsty and needs a lot of watering, especially if kept in a pot. It also has a large root-system, and appreciates a regular feed.

I would imagine the Central Valley of CA to be extremely hot and dry? This may be too much for this splendens. It needs some humidity. A typical summer's day here will be about 73 degrees....occasionally high 80s or low 90s. At night, the lowest will be 50, the highest 66, I guess. Rainfall is spread throughout the year, and is never reliable.

Hope this helps, and hope the plants will succeed.

Robin.

• mskee
    15 years ago

westelle,

I am in Western MA. Zone 6. I got the original seeds from Yvonne, who also lived in Western MA.