Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
josh_gw

Silke's Dream

Josh
18 years ago

Ordered Silke's Dream from Plant Delights' Spring 2005 catalog which described it as having "rich dark orange-red" blooms. Tonight I was looking back thru the PD catalog of Fall 2004 (re another plant) but noticed that the description for Silke's Dream reads "rich dark salmon-pink".

I intend to email the nursery for clarificaton, but I'd also love feedback from anyone here who has grown this particular cultivar. I'm new to Salvias. Do they change color with too much or not enough sun? josh

Comments (5)

• phoebe1969
    18 years ago

Josh said:Do they change color with too much or not enough sun?

Josh: I have a greggii that the flowers are much darker coral pink this year than last when it was a lighter peachy/pink. I'm thinking it has to do with the soil as we had a very wet winter which could have sort of leeched the soil and maybe changed the ph and made it more alkaline. Just a thought.

• Josh
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Phoebe, that's interesting. I know foliage often shows a change in color, texture, even size in many tropical plants particularly, depending on amount of light provided. And often I'll grow a hardy plant like Fatsia in shade even though it will withstand sun because I prefer the glossier deeper green leaf.

Had a nice reply from Plant Delights advising me that the 2005 catalog description was correct: rich dark orange-red. That's what I wanted so I'm happy.

I plan to grow it (only 24" tall and hardy here) in a large container on its own or possibly with other plants, using potting soil, but with a little sand added for best drainage. Any thoughts or experience on growing Salvia in a pot? josh

P.S. I've not moved from GA to AL overnight...just now got around to updating my Member Page~~smile. josh

• wardw
    18 years ago