Return to the Salvia Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Which Salvias give the best show of flowers for the longest time?

Posted by stefblac Victoria, Australia (My Page) on
Mon, Apr 27, 09 at 3:47

Hello everyone,

I am new to Salvia growing but I was just wondering if anyone can give me a few good salvia suggestions. I was looking for a few varieties that provide lots of attractive flowers for 6+ months of the year in a warm temperate climate (we are zone 9 I think). Think the more flowers the better. It has been recommended elsewhere that I try S. microphylla and greggii. Would anyone concur?

Thanks in advance

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Which Salvias give the best show of flowers for the longest t

steblac:
Yes both are evergreen you should find S.coccinea,miniata,
chiapensis,splendens and guaranitica long flowering as well.Some
hybrids like Indigo Spires,Mystic Spires and Purple Majesty
should be very showy.
Art

o

• Posted by dicot Los Angeles (My Page) on
    Mon, Apr 27, 09 at 17:27

I would agree with S. microphylla and greggii at the top of the list. S. leucantha, elegans, guarantica and aurea have been long-flowering for me in S. California.

o

Besides S. guaranitica, I would add S. miniata for zone 9 gardens. It can almost become a weed in Florida. It does well in our hot, humid summers.

o

• Posted by stefblac Victoria, Australia (My Page) on
    Wed, Apr 29, 09 at 0:30

Thanks for the advice, I will look into them

o

For the 2nd year in a row the greggii hybrid Cherry Queen won the first to bloom competition. The first flowers opened this morning, a pleasant sight after a winter that featured temperatures as low a 3F. It is blooming when some of the other greggii/microphylla are just barely sprouting and others may require an obituary. Cherry Queen will be in bloom until hard freeze in the fall.

o

The one here that never seems to stop is:
Salvia gramhammii x lemmmonii Maraschino Cherry
Perennial shrub
3 x 3+w
medium green ,heart-shaped, fruity scented