Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
stefblac

Which Salvias give the best show of flowers for the longest time?

stefblac
15 years ago

Hello everyone,

I am new to Salvia growing but I was just wondering if anyone can give me a few good salvia suggestions. I was looking for a few varieties that provide lots of attractive flowers for 6+ months of the year in a warm temperate climate (we are zone 9 I think). Think the more flowers the better. It has been recommended elsewhere that I try S. microphylla and greggii. Would anyone concur?

Thanks in advance

Comments (8)

• hybridsage
    15 years ago

steblac:
    Yes both are evergreen you should find S.coccinea,miniata,
    chiapensis,splendens and guaranitica long flowering as well.Some
    hybrids like Indigo Spires,Mystic Spires and Purple Majesty
    should be very showy.
    Art

• dicot
    15 years ago

I would agree with S. microphylla and greggii at the top of the list. S. leucantha, elegans, guarantica and aurea have been long-flowering for me in S. California.

• rich_dufresne
    15 years ago

Besides S. guaranitica, I would add S. miniata for zone 9 gardens. It can almost become a weed in Florida. It does well in our hot, humid summers.

• stefblac
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks for the advice, I will look into them

• wardda
    14 years ago

For the 2nd year in a row the greggii hybrid Cherry Queen won the first to bloom competition. The first flowers opened this morning, a pleasant sight after a winter that featured temperatures as low a 3F. It is blooming when some of the other greggii/microphylla are just barely sprouting and others may require an obituary. Cherry Queen will be in bloom until hard freeze in the fall.

• CA Kate z9
    14 years ago

The one here that never seems to stop is:
    Salvia gramhammii x lemmmonii Maraschino Cherry
    Perennial shrub
    3Â x 3Â+w
    medium green ,heart-shaped, fruity scented
    Brilliant red flowers

• wardda
    14 years ago