Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
becr_gw

B & B salvia & mulberry jam...how tall/ wide?

BecR
18 years ago

I am pretty new to salvia gardening. I keep hearing about the Black and Blue Salvia...finally I came upon some 1 gallon plants while shopping. Beautiful! I bet the hummers go wild! However, there was no info re the plant water/light requirements or height, width etc. Can someone please fill me in? I'm also interested in the Mulberry Jam salvia which someone mentioned in another post- these look well planted together w/ B & B, she said. I have never seen the MJam salvia, and have no idea how big it gets etc. Any info on these 2 varieties is greatly appreciated. Becky

Comments (9)

• CA Kate z9
    18 years ago

Mulberry Jam gets to be 3-4' tall and 4-6' wide depending on how much they lay around. They have very stiff canes that snap-off quite easily, so you need to be careful working around them. A mid-summer pruning helps keep them in bounds and then gives a better show for Sept. And, the Hummers LOVE them.

So far I haven't had a lot of luck getting B&B to grow well here, but I put in some new plants last year that may get some size this year. I have the Mulberry Jams planted with S. leucanta and ground roses.

• BecR
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thanks, Westelle, for the great info. Hmm-mm they get quite large...am scouting around my (small)yard to see where I could squeeze some in.

Becky

• CA Kate z9
    18 years ago

Becky: if you're tight on room, you could use some sort of "caging" to keep them more upright, but, they're still going to get to be a BIG plant.

• BecR
    Original Author
    18 years ago