Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
marymilkweed

Yellowing Leaves on Mexican Bush Salvia

marymilkweed
15 years ago

I am new to growing saliva and to this board. I have some yellowing of leaves at the base of my Mexican Bush Sage. The plants have been in the ground about 2 1/2 months and appear to be healthy and blooming otherwise. Are they getting too much or too little water? They are growing in full sun in fertile soil. Any help would be appreciated.

Comments (6)

• CA Kate z9
    15 years ago

That stem is probably getting old and will be replaced by new growth --- at which point you can remove the old one.

• hybridsage
    15 years ago

Need more information Please.What is your soil like?
    I would assume you have sandy soil as opposted to clay.
    How has rainfall been in your area? Are leaves yellowing on
    the interior part of the plant or all over? If your are
    in sand and rain/irrigation has not been on a daily basis
    it may be to dry.You may need to work in compost to retain
    moisture & mulch helps with this too .FYI: Mine usually yellows if it is to dry the leaves will wilt in the hotest part of the day and not recover until watered.We will wait for more info before going any further , Thanks!

• rich_dufresne
    15 years ago

"I noticed you had some experience with these. I have 3 in my front beds that are thriving and doing well (this is their 1st year). But, this week, almost overnight, the leaves started yellowing... from the bottom upwards. It is a leafy, full, bush, so I thought it was healthy, other than this sudden issue. Any ideas?"

I agree with hybridsage and his concerns. Yellowing and leaf drop is inevitable with most Salvias. This is especially true if there is a quantum increase in temps, with a hot spell. A cold spell, sudden changes in soil moisture, and loss of nutrients also can cause this.

It is usually with only the lower third to half of the bush that leaf loss is normal.