Return to the Salvia Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Yellowing Leaves on Mexican Bush Salvia

Posted by marymilkweed 9FL (My Page) on
Sun, May 25, 08 at 21:31

I am new to growing saliva and to this board. I have some yellowing of leaves at the base of my Mexican Bush Sage. The plants have been in the ground about 2 1/2 months and appear to be healthy and blooming otherwise. Are they getting too much or too little water? They are growing in full sun in fertile soil. Any help would be appreciated.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Yellowing Leaves on Mexican Bush Salvia

That stem is probably getting old and will be replaced by new growth --- at which point you can remove the old one.

o

Need more information Please.What is your soil like?
I would assume you have sandy soil as opposted to clay.
How has rainfall been in your area? Are leaves yellowing on
the interior part of the plant or all over? If your are
in sand and rain/irrigation has not been on a daily basis
it may be to dry.You may need to work in compost to retain
moisture & mulch helps with this too .FYI: Mine usually yellows if it is to dry the leaves will wilt in the hotest part of the day and not recover until watered.We will wait for more info before going any further , Thanks!

o

I am having the same exact problem as the original post. Yellowing leaves, from the bottom upwards. The yellowed leaves are showing the leaf 'veins' as maroon. These are salvia mycrophyllia(I think...), variety "hotlips. I haven't had much rain (once last week) but I have been watering more near than normal near this bed because I recently seeded the grass near the bed. Is it possible this is too much water? The ground is defeinitely NOT soaking wet, and it's been about 100 these past few weeks, so it would seeem odd that it would be too wet.... Any ideas? I can provide a picutre, if necessary

o