Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
blazepepper

Deadheading Question....

blazepepper
15 years ago

I have planted several different perrinials in a bed this year. This is my first time working with flowers. Several varieties of Day Lillies, Black Eyed Susans, etc.

Now I have decided to mix in some annuals for some more color. My first question is specifically regarding Salvia's. I purchased red/white salvias from home depot in cell packs with little to no descriptive info. I've read that Salvia's need to be dead headed after the blooms start to fade to ensure more blooming. However, I see that there are lots of diff kinds of salvia? Any tips here would be helpful. Also, read in a Ga gardening magazine that some perrinials, such as the blac eyed susan should be sheared back as well after first blooms fade to made stalks sturdier and stocky?? Basically just looking for some guidence on how/if/when/why to dead head/trim, as it would be scary to go out and just start loping them off with all the time and money I have in them. That probably sounds rambling doesnt it? Thanks for any advice.

Comments (6)

• CA Kate z9
    15 years ago

There are several difference pruning methods each for specific kinds of Salvias.
    We would need to know what you have to tell you the correct way to prune. I guess just taking off the spent blooms would be OK for any of them, but winter pruning is another matter entirely.

• ladyslppr
    15 years ago