Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dakster

What did I buy? (pic)

dakster
16 years ago

This was labeled as Salvia Salvino... but I bought it because to my untrained eye, it looked like something else. So tell me..what do I have?

Comments (10)

• ninamora
    16 years ago

Tis indeed Salvia Salvino, a hybrid cross of an annual and a perrennial Salvia. Mine bloomed just like yours.
    Nina

• ramazz
    16 years ago

I haven't seen this one. It is very pretty. Is it considered an annual?

Becky

• karen__w z7 NC
    16 years ago

It looks like S. sinoalensis to me. Do you know who the parents are?

• dakster
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thank you for all your responses..I wanted to make sure that was really what I bought. I'm a newbie to plants in general and I don't know all the names things can be labeled as.

Not sure who the parents are..I bought it at a place called Comstock Ferre in my hometown..they are an amazing inventory of seed.

Where I live in CT I believe it is considered an annual, although on the little ID Stick it states it is a cross b/w annual and perennial.
    It also ID's it as: Salvia "Salvino Blue" KLESA05253

Do you think this plant will be successful in attracting hummingbirds? I know all salvias are not created equal in that sense.

In the next couple of years I will be constructing a hummer garden, and I need to do my research, as well as become an expert on over wintering plants seeing it can get expensive to buy all at once. I learned a lesson last year with my Salvia Hot Lips..*sigh*..that was a sad day.

• ramazz
    16 years ago

Dakster:

I highly recommend the seed and plant exchanges if you don't already frequent them. Lots of generous people will be willing to share seeds/plants to help your hummer garden grow.

As for the attractiveness of your salvino, how large are the flowers? I have found (and my experience is limited) that salvias with smaller flowers tend to attract more bees and butterflies than hummingbirds.