Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
uofmrocky_gw

Salvia Pruning..please help

uofmrocky
14 years ago

Well I just planted some new perennials in my back yard this year. I put in some Royal Candles and some Salvia Veronica Speedwells. My question is about the dead flowers.

On both plants they had beautiful flowers, now the flowers that were there are all gone and the stems kind of look pretty bad. Can I get rid of those old flower...and will new ones grow? Do I need to prune these to get new flowers to grow..or do i get rid of them and if so how?

Comments (8)

• rich_dufresne
    14 years ago

Salvia Veronica Speedwells are not Salvias. Veronica = Speedwell.

I am not surprised that the flowering stem has wilted. Is there basal or axillary growth at the base of the plant?

• tippybird
    14 years ago

I am new to Salvia plants, and need information on how to prune them back. I have them in two large container gardens, and in a small garden plot around my mailbox. The gardens were developed by a local gardener so my thumb definitely isn't green. Please let me know descriptive info on how them should be pruned back. They are the Black and Blue variety. I have "deadheaded" flowers before, but have no idea how to treat this stalk-like plant!

Thanks in advance.

• hybridsage
    14 years ago

tippybird:
    Depends on which part of Zone 7 you are in as to timing
    of your pruning. Black & Blue (Salvia guaranitica) is
    Dormant in the winter so prune the stalks back after they
    turn brown.During the growing season pruning can be
    done anytime you want. Either deadheading any of the
    old bloom stalks or pruning back for shaping about 1/3 of the total plant height can be removed.If your daytime temperatures are above 90 I would avoid pruning until temperatures cool. This way you avoid bottom foliage getting burned.As the plant emerges in the spring you can pinch
    new growth as long as it has 3 nodes pinch the top one
    to develop better branching.
    Art