Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sarahbn_gw

Does anyone grow Salvia penstemonoides

sarahbn
17 years ago

I bought one last year from high country hardens and it never bloomed but it came back this year and got very tall I ordered another one this spring and it's not tall at all but it's starting to bloom. Is it hardy in zone 6? Here's the big one and little one

Â

Â

Comments (19)

• helena_z8_ms
    17 years ago

Hey Sarah, I like the color of s. penstemonoides. I've tried growing two last year, one Katrina killed and one I had over wintered in a pot finally croaked in the spring. Yours look good, must be your soil and the oyster shell you give them.

• annette68_gw
    17 years ago

Hello,

Your pics look gorgeous.I am new to this salvia & have just started from seed. I hope it flowers for me.

Cheers Annette

• sarahbn
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Hey Helena and Annnette , This salvia's flower reminds me a little of buchananii. I don't have alot of hope for it because alot of hardy salvias to zone 6 don't make it here It's really pretty though. If you want a cutting Helena let me know I don't have much luck finding seeds though. Sarah

• helena_z8_ms
    17 years ago

Thanks Sarah for the offer. The one that died from salt water I had from high country gardens too, the other was from seed, I still have seeds so I'll be trying again. Don't give up on yours, it might just surprise you and make through the winter.

Annette, hope yours flower too!

• rich_dufresne
    17 years ago

Salvia penstemonoides grows in flood plains of creeks in the Edwards Plateau in central Texas. The soil is caliche, meaning limestone with a little clay(?) I have seen it grow for quite a few years in a scree embankment at Plant Delights in Raleigh, NC, where it is in USDA zone 7b.

The oyster shells and good drainage are excellent treatments. In my experience, seed germinates fairly well, but a lot of the seedlings may damp off. Cuttings are possible, but difficult.

• sarahbn