Black and Blue Salvia

melva
16 years ago

I just love this one! I always see hummers around it

{{gwi:307801}}

Comments (19)

• CA Kate z9
    16 years ago

It doesn't do as well here in Central CA with our high temps and dry air, but I try to grow it anyway.

• nckvilledudes
    16 years ago

I agree---it does draw the hummers!

• laperouse
    16 years ago

Mine are doing great, too. Since I'm in zone 6, I wanted to take cuttings since I doub it will overwinter here. I have never done it before, so any suggestions as to when and how? What potting medium etc.

Thanks!
    Marianne

• nckvilledudes
    16 years ago

I have a friend around Lake Michigan that just digs a clump up after frost hits it and keeps it in a pot in an unheated garage that stays above freezing. Very occasional watering over the winter is all she does to it and then replants it outside in the spring.

• ladyslppr
    16 years ago

Instead of cuttings you might take a couple of small rooted pieces from the edges of your plants, pot them up, and try to overwinter them in a cool, bright window. Any small piece with a root will be easier to grow than a cutting. I'd start now, so that if you fail you have time for another try or two before frost.

• laperouse
    16 years ago

Thanks for the suggestions. I might try both!

Marianne

• olelady
    16 years ago

I live in zone 6 and brought my black and blue in last year, just potted it up like a house plant. It got spindly, but survived and set it back out this spring and it did beautifully.

But, I made a friend at the Farmer's Market who is a horticulturist, and she says all I have to do is mulch them real good and I won't have to bring it in.

That's what I did with the Hot Lips, and it survived.

Happy Gardening,

• gnabonnand
    16 years ago

That is very nice, Melva. Does it handle our summers okay? I may have to try Black & Blue.

Randy

• PKponder TX Z7B
    16 years ago

hi Randy,