Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
russ101

Growing S.Apiana seeds (on another continent!)

russ101
15 years ago

Hello all,

I live in Cape Town South Africa. I have no gardening experience, but desperately keen to grown White Sage plants. I purchased seeds on a local internet site, and tried looking up simple instructions for growing. The info on this website is GREAT and OVERWHELMING!

Some info on my home town: it's spring here, although still very chilly (8deg C at night and about 16deg C day-time). I believe these temps are too low for this plant, so I bought a small indoor greenhouse in which I intend growing the seeds. I bought some sandy compost/soil mix stuff (I heard about good drainage), some copper solution (prevents fungus/mildew I think? with something called 'supercharger') and some organic pesticide. As you can hear from my very technical explanations, I NEED HELP!

If there is anyone out there kind enough and patient enough to support a clueless gardner (but one who is passionately enthusiatic about growing this herb), please post here or email me: russta101@hotmail.com

I would like some simple instructions on:

- when to plant (season)

- depth of planting

- fertiliser

- how often to water / how to water

- any other helpful stuff

Thanks for an awesome website!

Comments (3)

• annette68_gw
    15 years ago

Welcome to the Forum, White sage is fairly easy to grow from seed, I have managed to keep mine alive for 2 years now in a tropical climate, it sounds like you may have better conditions to suit, first of surface sow the seed, salvias need light to germinate, once germinated, keep moist until it can be planted out, this salvia is drought tolerant once established, sandy soil mixed in is great for this sage,once this sage has a good root system it can be planted out, full sun.I hope that this helps;)

Cheers Annette

• ccroulet
    15 years ago

This is my third try to post this. Grrr!!