Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tastefullyjulie

advice on salvia from seed

tastefullyjulie
17 years ago

Hello,

I'm new to salvias this year but not to gardening. I don't know why, I just never got any salvias before.

Anyway, I picked up a Van Houttei from a local nursery to use in a container and I love it. I managed to get quite a few seeds today. I grow almost all my annuals from seed. Will this salvia come true from seed? And, if so, is it difficult to grow from seed? How many weeks early can I start them indoors?

Thank you so much!

Comments (15)

• annette68_gw
    17 years ago

Most salvias are easy to germinate from seed,the vanhouttii may throw different colours, not sure.The only thing you have to remember about salvia seed is that they need to be surfaced sowed, they need light to germinate. Depending on the salvia species, germination can take days to weeks.

• helena_z8_ms
    17 years ago

I'm just wondering how long you should wait before sowing fresh salvia seeds?

• rich_dufresne
    17 years ago

Vanhouttei seeds often come up as orange sports. Make sure you have dark brown, oval shaped seeds free of mold and other ovary parts like the gynobase that the seeds grow on.

Seeds germinate in 5 to 15 days and may be covered with some finely milled spaghnum. They definitely do not need to be naked on the seed flat.

I usually let fresh seed fully dry and ripen for 2 weeks before sowing. Some seeds can germinate as soon as they get as dark as possible. This is especially true for the subtropical species like coccinea.

• tastefullyjulie
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Thank you all so much. I'm having so much fun gathering seeds from the salvia. There's a ton more flowers so I hope to get more seeds before frost. Which leads me to another question. Since my salvias are in pots, is there any way for me to overwinter them in my garage or unheated sunroom? I'm not sure if it freezes out there or not.

• penny1947
    17 years ago

Hey Julie,