Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ggwrn

Salvia blepharophylla and salvia limelight

ggwrn
16 years ago

Hi,

This is my first time posting in this forum. Over the last few years I have really become interested in salvias. I recently saw pictures of Salvia blepharophylla and salvia limelight, I would love to have plants next spring. Does anyone know of a good source for them??

Ginger

Comments (13)

• ramazz
    16 years ago

Ginger, I have salvia mexicana limelight that I grew from seed. I don't know if I will get any seeds because it is a late season bloomer and the bumblebees tore into a lot of the flowers. I do see some green seeds but we will probably have frost before they get ripe. I got my seeds from someone on gardenweb last year. Anyone who lives in a warm enough climate should have no problem getting seeds from it.

Becky
    ramazz

• rich_dufresne
    16 years ago

Salvia mexicana Limelight sets seed fairly readily and S. blepharophylla usually sets none.

Which form of the latter would you be interested in? There is Diablo, Painted Ladies, Dulces Nombres (very hard to find), and an unnamed old-fashioned form. A few nurseries have the latter. A Google search should turn up some sources for the first two.

• myartichokeheart
    16 years ago

I have tons of Salvia 'Limelight' seeds and thought I had plenty of S. blepharophylla till I saw Rich's response. The Salvia they came from has black stems, small red blooms, and makes LOTS of seeds.

Get in touch. At least I can send the Limelight with confidence.

Kip

• ggwrn
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thank you for replying to my post. Becky and Kip, I sent you both emails.