Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jimcrick

I know it's not a Salvia but...

jimcrick
14 years ago

....it has green bits and flowers so I guess it's a plant.

....it is yellow - same colour as some salvias.

....it flowers in autumn, same time as many of my salvias.

....it goes well with fulgens.

Sorry it's not a salvia but it's just so nice.

Calceolaria pavonii.

Anybody else out there enjoying it with their salvias?

Jim

Comments (21)

• wardda
    14 years ago

Calceolaria have long been on my lust list, but everything I have read indicates the climate in New Jersey isn't right for it. If you don't mind I will ogle for awhile.

• voodoobrew
    14 years ago

I've got one for this thread....

Wooly Blue Curls (Trichostema lanatum)

A SoCal native, in full bloom now in my garden. Hummer magnet, which looks like a very fancy salvia with leaves that look like rosemary herb. Does anyone know how to get seeds from this plant?? It's my first time growing it.

• rich_dufresne
    14 years ago

Wooly Blue Curls (Trichostema lanatum) requires smoke treatment to germinate. It is one of the first plants to pop up after a fire.

You might also want to try Caryopteris divaricata, which also puts out wonderful blue flowers.

Try the Theodore Payne Foundation in Sun Valley, California

Here is a link that might be useful: Theodore Payne Foundation

• robinmi_gw
    14 years ago

Jim, your Calceolaria is stunning! Think I saw this in the Wisley glasshouse 3 weeks ago! Looked so much like a Salvia until I saw the flowers!

Can I include the wonderful Lepechinia bella in this thread? Closely related to Salvias, this is stunning, true blue, long-flowering, border-line hardy.

Here is a link that might be useful: Lepechinia bella

• drusilla
    14 years ago