Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tammyinwv

Whats your fav blue salvia?

tammyinwv
14 years ago

What is your favorite darkest,deepest blue salvia? I am new to these, and have seen somepics of some pretty blue ones such as "May Night". Would be especially nice if they are hardy to z6. Got any pics of them in your garden?

Tammy

Comments (49)

• rich_dufresne
    14 years ago

If Salvia patens were durable in North Carolina, it would be my favorite because it has the largest true blue flowers. Its cousin S. cacalifolia is reliable. Salvias sagittata, macrophylla, and a hybrid between the two can be rather striking. They are mot as reliable, though. Salvia reptans from west Texas and S. chamaedryoides from Yucca-Do are also true blue and hardy, but the flowers are small.

Cobalt blue flowers are also nice. The S. guaraniticas produce them in great abundance. These are the best hummer plants. Salvia farinacea produces smaller flowers, but some forms are strong bloomers, like Indigo Spires and Mystic Spires. Salvia azurea grandiflora is a very tough powder blue. Salvia uliginosa can almost become a weed, and is hardy to zone 6.

• tammyinwv
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks. Of those you listed Mystic Spires was my favorite. I like nice neat little clumps. Sadly tho it is only hardy to z7. I am pushing 6b
    Tammy

• drusilla
    14 years ago

I agree about S patens, but it won't overwinter outside for you (probably); it's winter dormant though and does well in pots, so it's a possibility.