Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dyhgarden

Salvias in garden design?

DYH
15 years ago

I realize that most folks here are collectors, and I often wonder how you use your salivas in your gardens. Do you have photos of the combinations that you use? Would you share?

Since salvias are deer-resistant and I have a full sun garden, they are the perfect plant for me to use. I'm just getting started!

Here is my favorite combo using salvia greggii 'Dark Dancer'. This section of my garden is only 1 year old, but I transplanted the salvias from 2 years ago to this location. I added another one this summer.

pink muhly for fall color

echinacea 'Ruby Star' for summer color

spirea 'Neon Flash' for spring color

buddleia 'Adonis Blue' for blooms off/on

crape myrtle 'White Chocolate' for burgundy foliage

Photos taken last week:

{{gwi:201041}}

Please share your favorite combinations.

Thanks,

Cameron

Chapel Hill, NC

Here is a link that might be useful: salvias

Comments (15)

• rich_dufresne
    15 years ago

This combo doesn't have Salvia in it, but had a wonderful texture:

Smoke tree in the background.
    Lobelia (blue) in the midground:
    Santolina in the foreground.

I saw this at Western Hills Rare Plant Nursery a long time ago (mid 80s), and it was stunning. A lot of blue Salvias would work instead of the Lobelia.

I like using Zephyrantes (rain lilies) and other bulbs. Woody lilies (Nolina, Agave, Dasylirion) works well with sages, especially with the desert ones.

• wardda
    15 years ago

Particularly fetching for me this year was a white flowered Zinnia augustifolia (species name has changed). It turns out a blizzard of small white daisies and only grows to about a foot tall and is easy to grow in large numbers. It was used at the feet of Mulberry Jam and among a patch of X Scarlet Spires and other places. It always makes the salvia flowers stand out.